All Items by Source

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCS)

EdX Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
EdX offers interactive online classes and MOOCs from the world’s best universities. Online courses from MITx, HarvardX, BerkeleyX, UTx and many other universities. Topics include biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, electronics, engineering, food and nutrition, history, humanities, law, literature, math, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, science, statistics and more. EdX is a non-profit online initiative created by founding partners Harvard and MIT.

Goals
  • Expand access to education for everyone
  • Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online
  • Advance teaching and learning through research

Principles

  • Nonprofit
  • Open source platform
  • Collaborative
  • Financially sustainable

Courseware

MIT OpenCourseWare Free Online Course Materials Some full text availableopenURL

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

 


Databases

Handbooks & Guides

OER@AVU | Open Educational Resources by the African Virtual University Some full text availableopenURL

The availability of quality and contextualized academic content is one of the major barriers to accessing quality education in Africa.

In 2005, the African Virtual University (AVU) through a collaborative approach involving 12 African Universities started addressing this issue by developing academic material for enhancing science teacher education and accelerating integration of ICTs in education.

A total of 12 African universities, 146 authors and peer reviewers from 10 countries in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries were fully involved in the exercise funded by the African Development Bank and partially by the United Nations Development Program-Somalia.

A total of 219 modules were produced, 73 modules in each of the 3 languages as follows: 46 in Mathematics and Sciences; 4 in ICT Basic Skills; 19 in Teacher Education professional courses; and 4 in integration of ICTs in Education.

The modules were released as Open Education Resources under the Creative Commons license in order to make the material freely available. Consequently, the AVU@OER portal was launched in January 2011, making AVU the leading African institution in producing and using OERs.

The portal hosts 219 text books available in English, French, and Portuguese which has contributed to increase the number of Africans that use, contextualize, share and disseminate existing as well as future academic content developed by the AVU. The portal also hosts 91 videos available.


temoa: Open Educational Resource portal Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

temoa: Open Educational Resource portalTemoa

The word "temoa" represents the words "to seek, investigate, inquire" and comes from the Nahuatl language. The Nahuatl is a lingua franca that served as communicative language bridge between peoples that made up the various Mesoamerican cultures.

is a knowledge hub that eases a public and multilingual catalog of Open Educational Resources (OER) which aims to support the education community to find those resources and materials that meet their needs for teaching and learning through a specialized and collaborative search system and social tools.

  • It contains selected educational resources, described and evaluated by an academic community.

  • Resources categorized by area of knowledge, educational level and language, among others.

  • Provides a friendly search engine through intuitive filters.

  • Allows the creation of communities around educational resources.

 


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files